Rocking and rollerskating: Books and Authors Event at Leon & Lulu

27 Oct

Cross that item off my bucket list: I have now sold my book to complete strangers!

My first-ever book signingLeon & Lulu - 102614 was a total delight at Leon & Lulu. The store, which offers an eclectic mix of gifts, clothing and furniture, is in a former roller rink in Clawson, Michigan. Clerks often zip around the store on skates; signs outlining proper skater etiquette decorate the bathrooms. It’s one of those stores where you go to get presents for people you don’t know how to buy for; it’s a lot of fun.

Leon & Lulu hosts an annual Books & Authors event featuring local writers, many of whom like me are self-published (or “independent,” as one author was quick to point out), with a percentage of proceeds going to a local literacy charity. The 30+ of us were stationed at furniture displays around the floor. As you can see from the photo, I scored a sectional with side chair which, after sitting on them for six hours, I highly recommend for comfy-ness. (Store management also trusted me to be tidy to an amazing degree: I used the sectional’s $3400 price tag as my coaster so I wouldn’t have to take repairs out of my limited royalties.)

Three things I loved about this event:

  1. Mary Liz Curtin, who co-owns Leon & Lulu with her husband, Stephen Scannell, championed us from the start, swooping through the store on crutches (due to a recent tumble) and rearranging store displays to reflect the authors’ works. Also, the staff was utterly terrific, bringing us drinks and food and acting as our cheerleaders throughout the day.
  2. The other authors, who were nothing but friendly and kind. Some of us were hawking our first book; others had series that are nationally known. They were eager to share their tips on writers’ conferences, printers and other sales opportunities, and their lack of ego proves that art is never a zero-sum game: instead, when one wins we all do.
  3. My friends and family who turned out, picked up first copies for themselves or second copies of my book as presents for others, and walked through the store with my book prominently displayed.

I sold well, particularly for my first such experience. Perhaps no sale meant more to me than one late in the afternoon to a woman I’d never met before. She confessed in hushed tones – as a lot of us do – that she was an aspiring writer who had a book she’d love to publish some day. I told her what I’d been told all day: “Congratulations and keep going because, hey, here I am as proof it can be done.”

See you on the flip side …

P.S. If you weren’t able to make it to Clawson or you prefer an electronic version of Love and Other B-Sides, you can pick it up on Amazon 24/7!

9 Responses to “Rocking and rollerskating: Books and Authors Event at Leon & Lulu”

  1. royboy49 October 27, 2014 at 8:16 am #

    That sounds lovely and fun! I will have to check that store out! Congrats on a successful event

    >

    • lpon45 October 27, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

      That store has your name written all over it – and it’s close to Warp 9 Comics, too!

  2. Pam Houghton October 27, 2014 at 8:42 am #

    Glad you had fun, Lisa. I wanted to come! Bring an autographed copy of your book to our meeting this Wednesday and I’ll be sure to hand over some greenbacks. (My plan was to do that at the book event!)

    • lpon45 October 27, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

      Pam, you’re too kind! Any particular inscription?

      • Pam Houghton October 28, 2014 at 8:28 am #

        Oh, I don’t know, how about, “To Pam, From Lisa” 🙂

  3. Valerie Washington November 19, 2014 at 11:54 am #

    Who knew? Not me. You are such a rocker. Knew you could could write AND it all! Congratulations on your first book. Last year I finished publishing Kevin Fickenschers book. Toto’ Reflections – The Leadership Lessons From The Wizard of Oz. You and Kevin both authors!

    • lpon45 November 19, 2014 at 12:15 pm #

      Thanks for reading, Valerie! It’s great to know that you’re a book shepherd – that may come in handy! I’ll look up Kevin’s book as well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What is Your Life’s Soundtrack? | The Power of Narrative - October 27, 2014

    […] author Lisa Peers whose book Love and Other B-Sides is a rock n’ roll themed romance. (You can see her booth on her own post about the […]

  2. Rock and reading at the Brighton District Library | LP on 45 - December 11, 2014

    […] I began what I’m grandly calling my book tour for Love and Other B-Sides. It began with the Books & Authors event at Leon & Lulu in October. That led to being invited to the Local Authors event last […]

Leave a Reply

Sixty Something

Observations, insights, hindsight, and forward thinking

timeweleftthisworldtoday

This world's so mixed up everywhere you go

keepsmealive

"No dress rehearsal, this is our life."

No Rhyme Or Reason

Positive/Thought Provoking Essays on One Fan's Love of Music

mikeladano.com

LeBrain's Record Store Tales & Reviews

the EARL of SWIRL

"to be average scares the hell out of me"

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Every Hit Song Ever...from A to Z!

Talk about.........Pop Music!

All You Need Is The Beatles

Musical musings on all things...well...musical!

Publication Coach

Beating writer's block, writing faster, writing tips, better writing, editing, communications consulting

The Immortal Jukebox

A Blog about Music and Popular Culture

PLAY IT LOUD!

Heavy Metal & Hard Rock 1980-1990

Music And Arts Connection

SPECIALIZING in LIAISON AND SOCIAL MEDIA SERVICES for INDEPENDENT MUSICIANS.

Groove

Digital Technology/Analog Grooves

Television Blues

A new online music channel

Mixed Tape Masterpiece

an ode to the songs (and radio stations) that shaped my life

Cave of Fame

Digging through relics while becoming one myself

