#50isthenew50: Planning ahead for my musical well-being

28 Sep

To get ready for my 50th birthday this weekend, I wrote my will. (Yeah, I’m taking this whole aging thing really well …)

Image Sources: instructables, naarsang.mihanblog , theverybesttop10 (via sadtohappyproject.com)

Image Sources: instructables, naarsang.mihanblog , theverybesttop10 (via sadtohappyproject.com)

The do-it-yourself will-writing software provided an option to do specific bequests. This made me realize how few things I own would be of any interest to anyone else, least of all my children. For instance, I have a hefty CD collection which I modestly believe showcases the best music since music began. But my kids have no use for them: in this age of digital downloads, streaming and cloud-based music, they are better used as iridescent DIY craft materials. (I plan to donate them to my local library instead, but that assumes they’ll still have a device that can play them. By then, the Cloud will probably be sentient and download Blue Ivy Carter and North West’s latest hit directly to our eardrums.)

Another element of estate planning is having an advance directive/ health care power of attorney. This not only outlines what level of medical intervention you want but also identifies your health care advocate – the person who’ll honor your wishes and speak for you if you are incapacitated. (Get this done, friends. It’s well worth the peace of mind for you and your family. If you live in Michigan, my employer’s My Voice, My Choice template can guide you through the process. End of PSA.)

This got me thinking: who will be my musical advocate?

I’ve seen what it’s like at my mother’s assisted living facility, which is one of the best in the world. The staff plays music in the common rooms to help stimulate memory and group interaction. They try to pick tunes that are familiar to the largest number of people depending on age group, usually aiming for what was popular during the residents’ young adulthood. My mother’s era would therefore be defined by a lot of Broadway, big bands and Mitch Miller-approved sing-alongs. The last time I visited her, though, Elvis Presley was in the air, as the Greatest Generation moves on and the Baby Boomers move in. I had to wonder if this made her antsy – she never struck me as an Elvis fan – or if she was grateful for the break from Lawrence Welk.

There’s no easy way to accommodate everyone’s personal taste, even when you’re in a room full of mentally acute adults. (As my good friend Gail says, ” I would like to have some control over what I have to hear in the GYM, let alone when I’m lying in a bed in a nursing home someday.”) It’s hard to pin down taste for one person, much less a group. Say you like Elvis: does that mean the Sun Records era, gospel, Hollywood hits, the comeback album or the late career Las Vegas material – or a little bit of everything? You may cringe every time you hear “Can’t Help Falling In Love” because that was your song with your first girlfriend, and she broke your heart. Or, you liked “Heartbreak Hotel” but were more obsessed with calypso, if truth be told.

These days, we have access to every song ever recorded. Our favorite songs cross generations  and genres, so it’ll be nearly impossible to know what makes an old heart sing just by looking at their birth date. Just because a song was popular when you were in high school doesn’t mean you liked it, either. That’s why I’m worried that years and years from now, I’ll have a hankering to hear Arthur “Big Boy” Crudup’s version of “That’s All Right” instead of the one made famous by The King …

… but since I graduated high school in 1983, they’ll assume all I want to hear is Madonna and Duran Duran. (I’ll probably keep whacking people with my cane until they stop that nonsense.)

Until some genius software company develops a template for a Musical Power of Attorney, I will have to do what I’ve done all along: trust my children. I’ve raised them to know good music when they hear it, and I’m sure they’ll keep my musical wits sharp and evolving throughout my next half-century. If and when I’m no longer able to spin my own iPod dial or change the satellite radio station, I know I will be in good hands … even if they turn my well-crafted CD collection into disco balls.

See you on the flip side …

P.S. I started this blog soon after I turned 45. Five years and 100 posts later, I am still at it, in no small part because of regular readers like you. As I blow out the 50 candles on my cake, one of my wishes is you continue to enjoy what you read and keep commenting. Thanks for coming along for the ride!

10 Responses to “#50isthenew50: Planning ahead for my musical well-being”

  1. jen September 28, 2015 at 8:41 am #

    LOVE it! “By then, the Cloud will probably be sentient and download Blue Ivy Carter and North West’s latest hit directly to our eardrums.” Seriously? That’s Pulitzer worthy.

    • lpon45 September 28, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks … and when this comes true, I’ll buy you a beer … if the Cloud still allows that sort of thing.

  2. Roy Sexton (Reel Roy Reviews) September 28, 2015 at 9:36 am #

    I love it! and happy birthday!

    • lpon45 September 28, 2015 at 8:51 pm #

      Thank you – and happy wedding!

  3. Every Record Tells A Story September 28, 2015 at 9:41 am #

    Many happy returns!

    • lpon45 September 28, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

      Thank you ever so much!

  4. Beverly Wentzel Vincent September 28, 2015 at 8:21 pm #

    enjoyed this! thanks

    • lpon45 September 28, 2015 at 8:53 pm #

      Thanks for reading it – I’m glad you liked it!

  5. Jeffrey L. Denbo November 3, 2015 at 7:20 pm #

    Anything but “Ballad of the Green Berets” or “Dominique” by The Singing Nun! I just love your “Musical Power. Of Attorney”.

    • lpon45 November 3, 2015 at 10:49 pm #

      I have sooooo many songs that I’d be happy to never hear again, much less in my last moments. Thanks for reading – glad you liked the post!

Leave a Reply

timeweleftthisworldtoday

This world's so mixed up everywhere you go

paulydeathwish

cinema dossier

keepsmealive

"No dress rehearsal, this is our life."

No Rhyme Or Reason

Positive/Thought Provoking Essays on One Fan's Love of Music

mikeladano.com

LeBrain's Record Store Tales & Reviews

the EARL of SWIRL

"to be average scares the hell out of me"

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Every Hit Song Ever...from A to Z!

Talk about.........Pop Music!

All You Need Is The Beatles

Musical musings on all things...well...musical!

Publication Coach

Beating writer's block, writing faster, writing tips, better writing, editing, communications consulting

The Immortal Jukebox

A Blog about Music and Popular Culture

PLAY IT LOUD!

Heavy Metal & Hard Rock 1980-1990

Music And Arts Connection

SPECIALIZING in LIAISON AND SOCIAL MEDIA SERVICES for INDEPENDENT MUSICIANS.

Television Blues

A new online music channel

Mixed Tape Masterpiece

an ode to the songs (and radio stations) that shaped my life

Cave of Fame

Digging through relics while becoming one myself

